Air National Guard

The Kansas Air National Guard is approximately 2,300 Airmen strong. Headquartered at Forbes Field, Topeka, it has two main units: the 184th Wing, Wichita, and the 190th Air Refueling Wing, Topeka. Additionally, a detachment of the 184th Wing operates Smoky Hill  Air National Guard Range, Salina.

The Air Component of the Joint Forces Headquarters Kansas provides command and control of Air National Guard resources during state emergencies, interprets United States Air Force and Air National Guard policies, and provides evaluation, issue resolution and action recommendations.