Kansas Adjutant General's Department
Contact: Public Affairs Office- Catherine Horner
Email: catherine.f.horner.nfg@mail.mil

(785) 646-1192
13-099 Governor requests federal disaster declaration for severe storms

Governor Sam Brownback sent a letter dated Sept. 25 to President Barack Obama requesting a federal disaster declaration for 47 Kansas counties affected by severe storms accompanied by isolated tornadoes, high winds, large hail, lightning, and torrential rains resulting in significant wind damage and flooding for an incident period of July 22 – Aug. 16, 2013.

"Some of these counties received as much as 500 percent above the normal amount of rainfall for the time of year," said Brownback. "This resulted in numerous floods and flash floods that caused four deaths, and did considerable damage to roads, bridges and other public infrastructure."

"For those families that lost loved ones, life can never return to what it was and to them I extend my sincere condolences," said Brownback. "This federal assistance will at least help the affected counties restore their damaged infrastructure so their residents can resume their normal routines."

Named in the declaration are Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Linn, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Ness, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Saline, Sumner, Washington, Wilson, Woodson Counties.

The letter was submitted to the president through the Kansas City, Mo., office of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.




Questions/suggestions to: Public Affairs Director